More Love for the New Apartment!

Yet more things I love about my new apartment:

-The FLOORS!  All 100 year old hardwood!  They definitely show their age, but it adds so much character, and I don’t have to worry nearly as much about scratching them, since they’re already so beat up!  At my old apartment, the crappy cheapo laminate “wood” in the living room was awful, and scratched when you so much as look cross-eyed at it!

-The bay window!  After a couple of weeks or sweltering August-style temperatures and humidity here in DC, it finally cooled off last night, and I sat up late in my chair that’s currently living in my bay window in the living room, enjoying the nice cool breeze that the windows catch!  *happy sigh*

-The location!  I can’t say enough good things about Mount Pleasant.  Sure, there’s been some dumb shit that’s gone down in the neighborhood (don’t even get me started on all the WASPs up in arms over mariachis on Mount Pleasant Street), but overall it’s a fascinating, diverse place.  And I might be selling a coworker on the neighborhood, because it’s one of the few good areas in DC where you can still find a studio apartment in the $900-1k/month range (she’s still in grad school and working part-time, so she’s trying to keep costs down).  She’s looking at an apartment a few blocks north of me next week!  🙂

Leave a Reply

