Crazy, Crazy, Crazy

The next couple of weeks are going to be pretty crazy in my little corner of the world.  I have a friend from high school (well, we knew each other in high school, but we definitely weren’t friends then…we’re closer now than we were then, even though she lives in TX) coming to visit Wednesday night, then she leaves on Sunday, and a friend of mine from college (and possibly her boyfriend) is getting in that night or Monday, and she’s staying until Friday.  And before they arrive, I have to get things cleaned up (and finish one more rather important project in my bathroom!), go grocery shopping,  and figure out where on earth my spare bedding went when I moved!  😛

I’ve hung up the freshly-painted mirror in my bathroom, but now I’m thinking it’s too white.  Most of the rest of the bathroom is a beige-ish color, and the white of the mirror frame might be a bit too stark in contrast.  But I’m going to leave it until I finish my one other urgent bathroom project:  Project Shower Curtain.  Don’t get me wrong, I haven’t been showering with nothing containing the water!  I just have the shower curtain liner up while I’ve been putting off making a nice fabric shower curtain.  But the shower curtain liner is clear.  And my bathroom door doesn’t really shut all the way (yay 100-year old apartments!)  So I figure I should be nice to my guests and give them a little more privacy with a real shower curtain to go outside the liner.

I bought a couple of cheap white flat sheets at Ikea a few weeks back, and ironed them and trimmed one of them down to shower-curtain size yesterday.  I also put in grommets for the curtain rings (luckily my downstairs neighbors are out of town, so I didn’t annoy them with my pounding the grommets in with a hammer!  :-P), and I’ve started hemming the curtain.  I probably won’t have time before my friends arrive, but I’d like to eventually put a few ruffles on the curtain, like the oh-so-popular ones at Anthropologie and Urban Outfitters (but oh-so-much-cheaper!).  But sans-ruffles, it’s still usable, and will make my bathroom look a little more finished.  And maybe the white shower curtain will make the white mirror look less out of place!  🙂

Leave a Reply

