Funk

I’ve been pretty quiet lately.  Not because I’m hard at work doing cool decorating things in my apartment.  Oh no.  I’ve pretty much done nothing on that front in weeks.  *facepalm*

I think my problem (along with holy balls I barely make enough money to live on, let alone buy a new backsplash for the kitchen!) is that I’m having trouble focusing.  I keep coming up with new ideas (Ooh, industrial kitchen look!  Ooh, wall of bookshelves!  Ooh, painting the cabinets!  Or the fireplace mantle!  Or the bathroom!), and I can’t seem to stick with one through completion (usually because my good idea bogs down around the OMG supplies are expensive! or I have no free time!)

So, I need to force myself to focus on one room at a time.  The tough part will be which one first?

Living room?

Or kitchen?

Both need serious help.  In the living room, I need to decide what I’m doing with the bookshelves–do I want to paint them, or replace them with a wall of bookcases (the built-in look) against the wall off to the right of the photo? (the problem with that is that the bookcases might cover up a little bit of a window over there, where the a/c unit for the living room is, and I’m not sure how that would work…also, it would just be a whole lot more expensive than painting the bookshelves I already have, but those shelves are already full, and there are still a lot more books of mine that my parents have)   I’ve also debated replacing the existing bookshelves with wall-mounted floating shelves on either side of the fireplace…but the walls in my apartment are wonky and I’m worried about putting that much weight on them (even with mounting the shelves into the studs and everything)!  For the living room, I also need a real coffee table, a better stand for my tiny TV, and a replacement for the beat up old (PINK) chair that I got for free years ago. I also need to decide what I’m doing with the dead space near my front door (if I decide not to do the wall of bookshelves)–maybe a tiny desk?

In the kitchen, I need to finally get my ass in gear about painting the cabinets and the buffet and putting up the faux-tin tile backsplash, I need to hem and hang the curtain for the pantry doorway and the curtain for the giant window, figure out a way to organize the pantry better, and decide if I want to mount some shelves on the wall above the buffet (see my concerns about the walls mentioned above!), and get a replacement for the crappy folding table and chairs that I have there now.

And then there’s my bedroom and bathroom.  But at least I have a pretty good idea of what I’m doing in the bedroom (new bedframe, new desk, new shelves), I just don’t have the money for it right now.  And I don’t even have the foggiest about what to do with my shoebox of a bathroom…

So:  Kitchen?  Living room?  Kitchen?  Living room?

Ack!

Leave a Reply

