I Cannot Leave Well-Enough Alone

Over the weekend, I posted a picture of what my kitchen currently looks like.  I’d say it’s a HUGE improvement over what it looked like when I signed the lease  on the apartment back in early May of last year:

(Though of course, the cabinets and appliances were back in place by the time I moved in in June)

Don’t get me wrong–I’m pretty freaking happy with how the kitchen is coming along.  But I was looking at the picture I posted, and realized that it’s really gray.  The cabinets and appliances are white, the knobs are white (with a little chrome), the backsplash is gray/silver, and the countertops are dark gray.  It’s all very monochromatic and a bit blah (but a nice blah)

So now I’m trying to find some nice accessories to add a punch of color.  Except that I don’t exactly have much space for accessories.  I have about four square feet of counter space, and I like to actually be able to use it!

Which got me thinking about how once upon a time, I considered taking the doors off my cabinets and doing the open shelving thing.

But, ahem…when I painted my cabinets, I didn’t paint the insides (just painting the outsides took forever!)  Which means that if I want to open them up, I need to do something about that.  And the thought of painting more of those demon-cabinets makes me want to run away screaming.

But maybe spray paint would work…  *plots*

Leave a Reply

