YUM!

Most people think of gingerbread as a “holiday” food–gingerbread cookies in the shape of people are a Christmas staple.  But my obsession with gingerbread knows no season!  Anytime I can get my hands on molasses, I will make gingerbread.

And I don’t make gingerbread cookies.  Oh no, I like my gingerbread in loaf form!

Here’s what has become my favorite recipe:

2 1/3 cups flour
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1 cup molasses
3/4 cup hot water
1/2 cup margarine
1 large egg
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. allspice
1 tsp. ginger
1 tsp. cloves
1 tsp. cinnamon

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (I usually set my current oven to closer to 350, but I think it runs a bit cool). Butter and flour a regular loaf pan.

Combine margarine and sugar. Add molasses and hot water. Beat in egg, and then flour, baking soda, salt, allspice, ginger, cinnamon, and cloves. Pour into the prepared pan, and bake for 45-55 minutes, or until a knife inserted into the center comes out clean.

Allow to cool on a rack until cool enough to handle, and then turn loaf out of the pan and allow it to cool all the way.

(This recipe is heavily based on THIS gingerbread recipe, but I’ve changed the type of pan used and FAR increased the spices–the gingerbread my mother always makes is far more heavily spiced than any other I’ve ever encountered, and I prefer it that way! :-D)

Leave a Reply

