Sink WTF

My apartment is pretty awesome, but also really freaking weird.  I mean, there’s the random carved piece of marble that was just chilling in my living room when I moved in, and I still haven’t figured out what the heck it’s from.  Then there’s the capped-off pipe that sticks out of one of the walls of my bedroom.  And the somewhat sketchy skylight in my closet that was covered over when they redid the roof of the building.

But ground zero for my apartment’s WTF-ness is definitely my kitchen.  I mean, there’s a reason I’ve put most of my effort into that room so far–it definitely needed the most help!  Like the sad-looking and smallish (but newish) fridge and stove that I’m pretty sure were from a scratch and dent sale, combined with my full-size, rather nice, Bosch dishwasher.  And my mismatched upper and lower cabinets (which look SO MUCH BETTER now that I’ve painted them–the fact that they don’t match no longer comes up and smacks you in the face!)

But the #1 thing in my kitchen that makes me go WTF?  The sink.

I had never seen a black sink like this before.  I’m used to stainless steel, or sometimes ceramic sinks.  But some sort of black plastic-y substance?  What on earth?

It’s also a massive pain to clean–it has the slightest bit of texture to it, which just traps everything and makes it freaking nasty.  WHY couldn’t they have just put a normal stainless steel sink in?

I don’t mind overly much that the sink is small (my stove is small enough that I can’t exactly use huge pots and pans, plus living alone makes them pretty unnecessary), but it’s weird and gross and ugly.

If I had my way (and a little more space), I’d go for a sink like one of these:

Or, you know, if you don’t want to spend over $1,000 on a kitchen sink, Ikea to the rescue:

But for now, I’m stuck with my freaky WTF black sink.  Blegh.

Leave a Reply

