Tamale-palooza

I didn’t have any exciting plans for Thanksgiving, so I decided to use that day for a very involved project:  making tamales!

The whole thing actually started Wednesday night, when I put the bone-in chicken thighs and split breasts into the crock pot with onion, garlic, chicken broth, dried chilies, and cumin.  That cooked for about 10 hours, and this came out Thursday morning:

Yum!

Then I whipped up a vegetarian filling (shiitake mushrooms, chilies, onion, garlic, diced tomatoes, cumin, and oregano):

More yum!

I ended up making three batches of tamales–one veggie, and two with chicken:

Omnomnom!

After a little more than 7 hours of active cooking (not counting the 10 hours of overnight cooking for the chicken), I had yummy, yummy tamales:

Mmmmmmmmm!

Now most of the tamales are in the freezer, waiting for after the holidays when I can try to get some friends together for a tamale party!  🙂

Leave a Reply

