Ugh

It annoys me to no end when people say “You can’t live in DC without a car!”  *eyeroll*  Because I’m obviously having so much trouble getting by without one.  It’s been a year and a half since I sold my car, and I have not regretted it once.  I like not having to worry about whether or not it’s going to get sideswiped or broken into while parking on the street.  I like not having to pay for gas or insurance.  I like not having to deal with DC-area traffic.

Also, I’m really annoyed by people who dismiss anyone who doesn’t own a car as a “hipster” who’s only doing it to be cool.  Because I could care less about coolness–I don’t own a car to save money and because driving in DC traffic makes me a nervous wreck, thanks.

Part of me just wants to move up to Brightwood, not near a metro station, and live there without a car, just to show that it can be done.

(And on the carless note, I’m looking forward to the metro rides down to Alexandria tonight, tomorrow, and Sunday, because it’ll be great time to work on my parent’s Christmas gifts!  :-D)

Leave a Reply

