Half-Assed Gourmet

This week, I made Half-Assed Veggie Tikka Masala.  It was yummy!

We got a burst of wicked cold weather here in DC, so I had no desire to stop at the grocery store on the way home from work.  Which meant that dinner had to come from what I already had on hand.  Thank goodness I’d grabbed a couple bags of frozen veggies the last time I was at the grocery store! 🙂

The recipe is based on this one, from Skinny Taste.  But I had no chicken on hand, nor any plain yogurt, nor any milk (What?  It just went bad!  I bought some the next day!)  So, it was very loosely based on that recipe.

Basically, making it went something like this:  dump half a bag of frozen broccoli/cauliflower/carrot blend, along with a bunch of frozen peas, into a pot, cover it, put the heat on medium, and let them defrost.  In a smaller pot, whip up two servings of brown rice.  Once the veggies are pretty much defrosted, dump in a small can of tomato sauce, at least a tablespoon of garam masala (lovelovelove that stuff!), and some chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, and turmeric.  Let it simmer, and then divide into two servings (one went into the fridge, for dinner the next day), putting one over half the rice.  (And no, I really don’t measure seasonings when I’m adding them to my cooking–if I’m going off a recipe, I’ll eyeball the amount it calls for, and then adjust as needed)

Is it authentic?  Hell no.  But is it yummy, easy, and fast?  Hells yeah!

While I was cooking, this is what was going on in my living room:

Yep, Max loves him some boxes.

Leave a Reply

