More Half-Assed Gourmet!

Had a fairly busy weekend:  worked at the “Awesome” Historic House (we’re on the rocks right now, but hopefully things will get better after February…long story *sigh*), bought wicked cheap awesome new pillows at Ross (yes, this is how exciting my life is :-P), and went out for dinner and drinks with some people from my grad program and other assorted friends on Saturday, and then slept in, did laundry, braved the grocery store, and made dahl on Sunday.

So yes, dahl!  (This recipe is a combination of some info I found on the internet, and a recipe from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything)

First, heat a couple tablespoons of olive oil in a pot, then add:
-1tbl. mustard seeds
-1tsp. cumin (use whole seeds if you have them–I just had ground, so that’s what I used)
-1 tsp. cardamom (again, use a few whole pods if you have them–I used ground)
-1/2 tsp. ginger (and again, if you want to be less half-assed, grate up some fresh ginger–I just used ground)

Saute those spices for a few minutes, then add 1 small chopped onion and 4-5 chopped cloves of garlic.  Let all that saute for a few more minutes, until the onion is soft.  Then add a can of drained diced tomatoes (use petite diced if you can–I used regular diced and they were a bit too chunky, or just dice up a few roma tomatoes), and 1 cup of red lentils (you can also use regular lentils, but I’ve found that they’re a bit grittier when cooked).  Then add enough water to cover the mixture by about an inch (I used about 2 1/2 cups, and that was a little too much–my lentils were a little soupy at the end).  Bring to a boil, partially cover, and simmer for at least 30 minutes, or until the lentils are soft–you can add about a tsp. of turmeric just before it’s finished simmering, but it’s not essential.

Slightly soupy lentils (and yes, my stove is due for a cleaning again–I’m kind of a mess cook!)

I also tried to make pita to go with the dahl, but I seem to have lost my pita-mojo (I used to be really freaking good at cranking out awesome pita, but now I can’t seem to figure out how I did it!  *pouts*), so I ended up with slightly crispy flat rounds of dough.  Oh well, I’ve never met a bread product that I didn’t like!  😛

And my freezer is actually starting to get a little bit full–It is currently home to several servings of half-assed soup (awesome sausage barley soup that I threw together when the grocery store was out of most of the things I needed), some dahl, an assortment of frozen veggies, and a bunch of the bagels I made a while back.  🙂

Leave a Reply

