Well Hello There!

Yes, it’s been over a year since I’ve posted on here. There were a lot of factors that went in to that, including simultaneously hating my job and hating where I was living (the nice but boring condo wasn’t bad…it was just in a shitty neighborhood, and was nice enough that once I’d painted the bathroom walls, there really wasn’t much else I could do to the place :-/)

But all of that is changing! I started a new job just over a month ago–a job IN A SMALL MUSEUM! In a small historic house, no less! A job where I get to develop exhibits and programs (and the other less-fun stuff like deal with moisture issues in the basement and cracking plaster. Yay historic houses!)

It’s definitely taking some time to adjust, going from a mind-numbingly boring office job that I could do in my sleep, to a fast-paced museum job where I’m managing five projects at once and having to stay mentally engaged all day every day, but I’m so much happier!

AND…in a couple of weeks, The Boy and I are moving to Old Town Alexandria! He’s still finishing up grad school, but he also just got a full-time job just south of DC, so between both of us now making decent full-time salaries, and wanting to cut down his commute, we decided to take the plunge and move across the river.

The new apartment? In a converted 1890s rowhouse! It reminds me so much of the old Mount Pleasant rowhouse apartment, except it’s in better shape, and bigger, and in an even better neighborhood! I’m already plotting what I want to do–but the first thing that I’ll be changing? The brown ceilings in the living room and dining room. I’m painting those the weekend before we move in, because NO.

So yeah–there might actually be some updates around here! 😀

Leave a Reply

