Umm…Hi?

*tap, tap*

Is this thing on?

Hi! Remember me? Remember how in my last post, I said that there might actually be more posts around here? Yeah, sorry about that. When I said that the new job was demanding, I might have been underestimating a bit. Or a lot.

I still love the job, but after almost a year, I’m having to force myself to find a slightly better work-life balance. I love house museums, but all house museums all the time is a good recipe for burn-out. So I’m trying to focus more on apartment improvement in my non-work hours, to get my mind off work occasionally!

So what have I done in the past 7 months? Quite a bit, actually!

Remember how I mentioned that the ceilings were BROWN? (Seriously, I think brown is following me! Second apartment in a row that has had poorly-chosen brown that I've had to paint over--remember the poo-brown bathroom?)
Remember how I mentioned that the ceilings were BROWN? (Seriously, I think brown is following me! Second apartment in a row that has had poorly-chosen brown that I’ve had to paint over–remember the poo-brown bathroom?)

 

Ahhh, so much better! Not only is the ceiling now a nice clean white, but the walls are also a serene pale grey!
Ahhh, so much better! Not only is the ceiling now a nice clean white, but the walls are also a serene pale grey!

But wait, there’s more!

Sorry I didn't get any straight-on shots of this chandelier, but the thing was GIGANTIC (and The Boy kept hitting his head on it, because it was hung to go over a dining table...except that we were using the dining room as an office, so no table in the middle of the room!) and totally not my style. (Also note more brown ceilings and rental-beige walls!)
Sorry I didn’t get any straight-on shots of this chandelier, but the thing was GIGANTIC (and The Boy kept hitting his head on it, because it was hung to go over a dining table…except that we were using the dining room as an office, so no table in the middle of the room!) and totally not my style.
(Also note more brown ceilings and rental-beige walls!)

 

New light (reminiscent of late-Victorian lighting from the time the rowhouse was built, but more sleek and streamlined), new wall color, new ceiling color!
New light (reminiscent of late-Victorian lighting from the time the rowhouse was built, but more sleek and streamlined), new wall color, new ceiling color!

And MORE!

If you've poked around on the Rowhouse Apartment 2.0 page, you've seen this shot of the kitchen when the previous tenant was in the process of moving out. It's itty-bitty, and WTF is up with those sad little crooked, off-center shelves?
If you’ve poked around on the Rowhouse Apartment 2.0 page, you’ve seen this shot of the kitchen when the previous tenant was in the process of moving out. It’s itty-bitty, and WTF is up with those sad little crooked, off-center shelves?

 

They're still a work in progress (need white paint once it warms up enough outside!), but they're already SO MUCH BETTER!
They’re still a work in progress (need white paint once it warms up enough outside!), but they’re already SO MUCH BETTER!

The bedroom, bathroom, and back closet are still largely unchanged, but I’m getting ready to make some progress on getting the closet organized and prettied-up!

Leave a comment